blank 07/08/15 09:02AM AMA Pro Racing, ATV Motocross Championship, ATVMX, Readers Pics, Spring Creek MX Park

2015 Mtn. Dew ATV Motocross National Championship Report

MILLVILLE, Minn. (June 28, 2015) - The 2015 Mtn. Dew ATV Motocross National Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing (ATVMX), hit the home stretch on Saturday with its visit to legendary Spring Creek MX Park kicking off stops at four of the most iconic tracks on the planet to wrap up the season. Faced with some of the most challenging track conditions of the season, reigning three-time AMA Pro ATV Champion Chad Wienen rose to the occasion with a dominant 1-1 performance that gave the Wienen Motorsports/Maxxis/SSi Decals/Walsh Race Craft Yamaha rider his fourth overall victory of the season and extended his lead in the championship.

Spring Creek MX Park
The AMA Pro ATV field was challenged mightily on a demanding Spring Creek track. Photo: Ken Hill

Spring Creek has rose to notoriety by virtue of its rough and physically demanding layout, with such notorious obstacles as the sand whoops, "Holy Schmit" jump and "Mount Martin." These lap-after-lap challenges took their toll on the entire AMA Pro ATV field and ended up claiming championship contender Joel Hetrick with a big crash in practice that left the Hetrick Racing/Corrosion Specialties rider battered and bruised for the motos.

A tremendous crowd was on hand to cheer on the world's fastest ATV riders, and they saw Wienen make the first statement of the afternoon by breaking Hetrick's qualifying dominance in claiming his first Fastest Qualifier Award. Prior to Saturday, Hetrick had earned the award at all six rounds of the ATVMX season.

Wienen at Spring Creek 2015
Wienen was in a class of his own at Spring Creek. Photo: Ken Hill

When the gate dropped on Moto 1, Hetrick fought through the effects of his practice crash to earn the SSi Decals Holeshot Award and lead the field through the first few corners. However, Hetrick's lead wouldn't last long as Wienen took advantage of a strong start of his own to move into the first on the opening lap and quickly establish a multiple second lead. Hetrick tried to keep pace but was unable to keep Wienen close, allowing the defending champion to cruised to his fourth moto win of the season by just over 14 seconds. Hetrick held on to an assertive second-place finish, while JB Racing/Can-Am/Liquid Wrench's Jeffrey Rastrelli took advantage of a fourth-place start to move past Root River Racing's Josh Upperman into third on Lap 1 and secure the final podium spot. Maxxis Yamaha, powered by Moto-Xperts, rider Thomas Brown finished fourth, followed by Eleven18 Powersports Honda's Tyler Hamrick in fifth.

Hetrick Spring Creek 2015
Despite a big crash in practice, Hetrick refused to let up and soldiered home to a strong runner-up finish. Photo: Ken Hill

Hetrick showcased his toughness and resiliency yet again in Moto 2, jumping out to another SSi Decals Holeshot Award for a sweep of the day. As was the case in the first moto, Hetrick's early lead was short lived as Wienen enjoyed another great start as well and got around Hetrick on the opening lap. Hetrick again did his best to keep Wienen in sight, but the Yamaha rider was on a mission and marched his way to another dominant moto win by over 15 seconds. Hetrick easily claimed second again, while Rastrelli solidly earned another podium result in third. Brown finished fourth, with Upperman fifth.

Despite having four overall wins to his credit this season, Wienen's 1-1 moto sweep was his first this year. Hetrick overcame the effects of his crash to finish strongly in the runner-up spot (2-2), while Rastrelli made his anticipated return to the podium in third (3-3).

Rastrelli Spring Creek 2015
Rastrelli enjoyed one of his best outings en route to third overall. Photo: Ken Hill

Wienen's dominant day moved him to a 21-point lead over Hetrick in the AMA Pro ATV standings with three rounds remaining. Brown, who finished fourth (4-4), sits 40 points out of the lead in third, with Upperman fourth (-120) and Nick Gennusa fifth (-132). 

AMA Pro ATV Overall Results (Moto Results)
  1. Chad Wienen, Galena, Ill., Yamaha (1-1)
  2. Joel Hetrick, Seneca, Pa., Honda (2-2)
  3. Jeffrey Rastrelli, Palm City, Fla., Can-Am (3-3)
  4. Thomas Brown, Sanger, Texas, Yamaha (4-4)
  5. Joe Byrd, Union City, Tenn., Honda (6-6)
  6. Josh Upperman, Louisville, Ohio, Honda, (8-5)
  7. Nicholas Gennusa, Wall Township, N.J., Yamaha (7-7)
  8. Tyler Hamrick, Cortland, Ohio, Honda (5-12)
  9. Vital Cazenave, Union City, Tenn., Honda (11-8)
  10. Sean Taylor, Montezuma, Iowa, Honda (10-11)

AMA Pro ATV Championship Standings
  1. Chad Wienen, Galena, Ill., Yamaha - 341
  2. Joel Hetrick, Seneca, Pa., Honda - 320
  3. Thomas Brown, Sanger, Texas, Yamaha - 301
  4. Josh Upperman, Louisville, Ohio, Honda - 221
  5. Nick Gennusa, Wall, N.J., Yamaha - 209
  6. Jeffrey Rastrelli, Palm City, Fla., Can-Am - 208
  7. Ronnie Higgerson, Cutler, Ill., Can-Am - 183
  8. Vital Cazenave, Union City, Tenn., Honda - 155
  9. Joe Byrd, Union City, Tenn., Honda - 154
  10. Brett Musick, Verdunville, W.Va., Yamaha - 145

Specialty Awards Top Qualifier Award

  1. Joel Hetrick - 6 points
  2. Jeffrey Rastrelli - 1 point
  3. Chad Wienen - 1 point

SSi Decals Holeshot Championship
  1. Joel Hetrick - 14 points
  2. John Natalie - 6 points
  3. Josh Upperman - 2 points
  4. Thomas Brown - 2 points
  5. Chad Wienen - 1 point

The 2015 Mtn. Dew ATV Motocross National Championship will continues in two weeks, with Round 8 from Unadilla in New Berlin, New York, on July 11.

For more information on the 2015 Mtn. Dew ATV Motocross National Championship, visit Join the conversation on the series Facebook page, follow on Twitter @ATVMXdotcom and Instagram @ATVMotocross, and be sure to always hashtag #ATVMX.

About the AMA ATV Motocross Championship          
The AMA ATV Motocross Championship is the nation's premier amateur and professional ATV motocross series, hosted at top motocross facilities nationwide. The 10-round series features the Nation's best racers, teams and sponsors, and is America's largest and longest-running ATV national motocross program. Since 1985, the series continues to expand and produce top talent from the amateur ranks, while premiering the professional class.

blank Permalink | Print | E-mail | Comments (0)